Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

Re: New member

Hello everyone,this has been a difficult year for me. I've been caring for my chronically ill husband for 15 years .  I reconnected with a counsellor in February, and the people within that organisation have walked beside me since then: through my deep depression and other mental health issues. I am due for a medication review this Thursday and am rather anxious. I am also hyper-alert due to a number of childhood traumas, so am trying to control my anxiety through deep breathing exercises and relaxation.  I feel that I am turning a corner in relation to my mood and self-confidence. I am now able to do some things around the house again, after not being able to for so much time (I also work full-time). I am sooo grateful for being given a second chance. I appreciate the chance to connect with others who struggle with their mental health issues as so many people don't know what it's like.

Welcome to the forums @NatalieS .... 🌷

There is a wide circle of experiences here, and people from all walks of life.  It sounds like you have had long carer struggles as well as your own mental health challenges .... not easy at all .... but it's wonderful to hear about your progress and achievements .... so encouraging too.

We walk along with each other here.  Pleased to meet you.