Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

Neuro_Spicy
Contributor

Work is taking a toll on me…

I work in health care and have done for 12? Years.

Over the past 3 months I have began to struggle more and more due to an increased work load and a number of complex clients.

I have a history of CPTSD, ADHD, anxiety & alcohol abuse.

I’ve reached out to my manager, to my managers manager and finally to HR.

I’ve been promised help and it hasn’t been provided. 
I’m weeks behind in my work. 

I took 3 days off on stress leave and emailed my boss for assistance - I didn’t get it and instead returned to 3 days worth of work not completed. 

After breaking down yesterday with my psychiatrist, she sent a letter to work.

They’ve emailed me today with all the ways they have claimed to help (none of it has actually been actioned) and turned it around to ask me if something has changed for me to mean I can no longer complete the tasks required for the role….

I feel like a failure.

I feel like they’re not listening.

And I’m at a loss as to what to do.

My nightmares have increased, my anxiety has increased and I’m constantly on edge.

Im not sleeping properly - and when I do I wake up from nightmares.

Some have said maybe I need a new job; I don’t think it’s that easy. I feel like I’m going to face challenges where ever I go because depending on the day, I may need support with my role.

I’m good at my job but when given the workload of others and I get behind, I struggle to get on top.

if I could get help with the over due work, I’m confident I can maintain my role. But I’m not getting the help.