Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Useful resources

kristin
Senior Contributor

Lessons for Life: SANE research report into suicide attempts & improving prevention

Dear all,

This report is now available on the website. It makes interesting reading, and makes some excellent points. I was one of the participants. I hope what's in it might also be of help to others.

Kind regards,

Kristin

8 REPLIES 8

Re: Lessons for Life: SANE research report into suicide attempts & improving prevention

Thanks for that Kristin.

I have a lived experience of Suicide attempts and Self Harm. I now work in the Mental Health Sector as a Peer Worker.

What  I have noticed in my Suicidality is that it I am significantly more suicidal and likely to self harm when  I am on antidepressants than when I am not. When I come off these medications, the suicidality drops, even though anxiety and other symptoms can return.

There is quite a bit of evidence to suggest that Antidepressants can cause suicidality in some people.  they can also decrease it in others, such is the complex nature of psychiatric medication.

From my own experience there seems to be less awareness by doctors of the potential risks of medication.

Re: Lessons for Life: SANE research report into suicide attempts & improving prevention

Hi @Ngunjima 

Welcome to the forums! Thanks for joining in the conversation, I'm sure some of the others ( @Rick @Alessandra1992 @kato @Loopy @peace @Ellie ) will also make you welcome when they get this.